Orange flour

Smoothie Challenge

DSC_0023_2

So I have been eating a LOT of cake lately and considering that I go on holiday in a weeks time, this is definitely not great for my bikini body! I’m also feeling very unhealthy and sluggish, therefore, I have decided to be healthy for a week and am inviting you all to join me. This may be a rather unconventional post for a baking blog, but I challenge you to STOP EATING CAKE and take my smoothie challenge. Don’t get me wrong, cakes and bakes are delicious and I will never deprive myself of a sunday afternoon (or pretty much any day, time, or place..) treat, but we definitely need to find a balance and summertime can be tragic for our waistlines when we go on holiday, eat out in restaurants every day and are tempted by rich desserts, ice creams and sugary cocktails.

Baking is all about creating delicious flavour combinations and satisfying a sweet tooth craving – smoothies are a great way to do the same thing in a healthy way. Make a change for one week by taking my smoothie challenge and see how good you will feel by the end of the week. Start each day with a smoothie for breakfast. Here are a few of my creations to get you started:

MON: Go Green 1/2 ripe banana, 1 pear (skin peeled), 200ml almond milk

TUES: The Bakewell 1/2 ripe banana, 8 ripe cherries (de-pipped), 1 large tsp almond butter, 200ml almond milk

WED: The Tropics 1/3 cup chopped fresh mango, 1/3 cup chopped fresh papaya, 1/4 ripe banana, 100ml orange juice, squeeze of lime

THURS: Chococado 1/2 ripe banana, 1/2 ripe avocado, 1tbsp cocoa powder, 1 tsp honey

FRI: Berry Bananza 1/2 ripe banana, handful fresh blueberries, 4 fresh strawberries, handful fresh raspberries, 200ml almond milk

SAT: Feeling Peachy 2 fresh peaches, handful fresh raspberries, 200ml coconut water

SUN: The Hummingbird 1/2 ripe banana, 1/2 cup vanilla yoghurt, 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 cup pineapple juice

DSC_0018

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 5, 2013 by in Breakfast, Easy, Snack and tagged , , , .
