Orange flour

Coconut and Cherry Cake

DSC_0004
This recipe is courtesy of my mum who baked the cake this morning. I was drawn to the sweet smell escaping from the kitchen and thought it too good not to share on my blog. Both my mum and my aunt have baked this cake before – they got the recipe from my grandma, so I guess it has become somewhat of a family recipe, passed down through the women of the family!

Ingredients:

12oz self raising flour
6oz butter
6oz caster sugar
2 eggs
1/4pint whole milk

8oz glacé cherries
2oz desiccated coconut

Method:

(preheat the oven to 180*c and grease and line a deep 8″ round tin)

– using the tips of your fingers, rub together the flour and butter until a fine crumb forms
– stir in the caster sugar, eggs and milk
– add the cherries and coconut
– pour mixture into your prepared tin and using the back of a spoon, create a slight dip in the centre so that the cake rises evenly
– bake for 1hr 10minutes (or slightly longer if still wet in the middle – check by pushing a skewer into the centre of the cake)

 DSC_0011
3 comments on “Coconut and Cherry Cake

  1. Lucy
    February 27, 2014

    I’ve been drawing inspiration from your bakes when I’ve been cooking…I want to make cupcake versions of this cake! I recently made lemon and blueberry ones and although nice, the berries sank to the bottom! Any advice on how to stop this happening? Thanks 🙂

    • SAFbakes
      February 27, 2014

      Hi Lucy, glad to hear I’ve inspired you! For your berry cupcakes I advise that you find a muffin recipe as they tend to be a little denser and therefore able to hold the fruit in place whereas a cupcake recipe using a simple sponge will be very light and fluffy. Having said this, I have previously made blueberry cupcakes with a simple sponge cake without much sinking. Are you putting fresh lemon juice into the mix as sometimes the acidity affects the consistency of the sponge – use only the rind with a good quality lemon extract. Trial and error seems to work for me – good luck! X

  2. SAFbakes
    February 27, 2014

    I have just thought also that perhaps you are overloading your mix with fruit – less can be more as the sponge can only hold a certain amount of weight before the berries come crashing down 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2013 by in Baking and tagged , .
