Orange flour

Victoria Sandwich

DSC_0001
Mum’s Victoria Sandwich.. I am sure every Brit has claimed this once in their life, but I can honestly say that my mum makes the best Victoria sandwich. Light-as-air vanilla sponge, creamy butter icing and sweet strawberry jam – the art is in its simplicity. However, this simplicity can be your downfall as every element must be perfect. There is no where to hide!

A Victoria sponge cake was the first cake I learn to make as a child and I now know the recipe off by heart. I used to make this cake on a regular basis for a quick fix to my sugar cravings. It always tasted delicious, but never quite as good as my mum’s. I follow the same recipe so one would assume that my cake would turn out the same… but no. What is her secret?! We seem to have a case of ‘mamma knows best’. On that note, perhaps I should loan out my mum rather than post this recipe. Although on second thoughts, I would much rather keep her to myself. Happy baking!

Ingredients:

sponge:
6oz caster sugar
6oz soft Stork margarine (Shock! Horror! Yes I know, the unspoken ingredient, but mum insists that butter is too heavy and won’t result in such a light sponge.)
3 eggs
6oz self-raising flour
1tsp vanilla essence

buttercream:
2oz butter
4oz icing sugar
1tsp vanilla essence

strawberry jam
icing sugar (to dust)

Method:

(preheat oven to 180*c and grease and line 2 round  9″ baking tins)

– cream together the sugar and margarine until pale
– beat in the eggs one at a time
– add the vanilla essence
– sift in the flour and with a metal spoon, gently fold in
– divide the mixture between the 2 tins and spread out a little – use a spoon to make a small dip in the centre of the mixture so that the cake rises evenly
– bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until risen and golden – to check if the cake is cooked through, insert a clean knife into the centre. If if comes out clean, the cake is ready
– remove from tins and leave to cool on a cooling rack

– for the buttercream, cream together the icing sugar, butter and vanilla essence
– dollop a generous amount of jam onto the bottom half of the cake and spread out
– spread the buttercream liberally over the top of the jam
– place the other half of sponge on top and gently press down
– dust with icing sugar

DSC_0024
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2013 by in Baking, British, Sponge Cake and tagged , , , , .
