Orange flour

Spiced Orange, Raisin and Fudge Biscuits

DSC_0025

When I first attempted these cookies, I was very disappointed as they did turn out how I wanted. I am a perfectionist and hate it when things don’t go to plan, so I got straight on making a new batch. I had used the wrong recipe – instead of making a thick, tea-dunkable cookie, I had made a more chewy and sugary thin biscuit that spread like wildfire in the over! Mum came to my rescue and gave me a recipe that I could adapt with my chosen flavours. Being a baking novice, I will have to learn to love a bit of trial and error!
Ingredients:5oz butter
6oz caster sugar
1 egg
10oz plain flour
1tsp baking powder
1tsp mixed spice
2oz fudge squares
2oz raisins
2tsp grated orange zest

Method:

- cream together then butter and sugar
– add the egg
– mix in the raisins, fudge and orange zest
– sift in the dry ingredients and combine until a workable dough forms (if your mixture is too wet, add a little more flour)
– roll the cookie dough into a sausage about 2″ in diameter, cover with cling film and refrigerate for 2 hours

(preheat oven to 180*c and line a few baking trays with greaseproof paper)

- after 2 hours, slice the dough into biscuits, just under 1cm thick
– bake in the over for 12-15 minutes, or until golden
– cool on a wire rack and then enjoy with a cup of tea!

makes about 20 cookies

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 14, 2013 by in Baking, Biscuits and tagged , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 486 other followers

